There is a $1.59 transaction fee charged by the payment processing company. American Express is not accepted.
Pet License Fees
License fees vary from city or area, please refer to the License Fee Schedule below for the appropriate license fee.
License Fee Schedule: (Effective May 18, 2021)
|Long Beach||Cerritos||Seal Beach||Signal Hill||Los Alamitos|
|Dog Altered- Senior Residents||$14.00||$5.00||$15.00||$10.00||$14.00|
|Dog Unaltered (Only Current License Renewal for LB Dogs)||$250.00||$20.00||$103.00||$95.00||$105.00|
|Dog Unaltered- Senior Residents||$125.00||$10.00||$50.00||n/a||$105.00|
|Expired License Penalty||$15.00||n/a||n/a||$15.00||$15.00|
|Cat Altered- Senior Residents||$6.00||n/a||n/a||n/a||n/a|
Late Penalty and Violation Citation
Pet Licensing FAQ
California or municipal law requires that all cats and dogs over the age of four months be licensed as a rabies control measure. Making sure your pet has its current license attached to its collar also is your best insurance of having your pet returned to you in case he or she becomes lost or gets out of your yard. The pet license also lets us know if your pet is currently vaccinated against rabies. The money received from pet license fees helps the department continue to provide quality animal care and control services 24 hours a day, every day of the year.
A permanent license tag is issued when a license is first purchased (Cats may be microchipped in lieu of a permanent cat license tag). Should you need a replacement tag, there is a fee of $10.00.
Pet licensing can be purchased or renewed several ways:
Send copies (this paperwork will not be returned so do not send originals) of the above information along with the pet license application to the Animal Care Services Bureau at 7700 E. Spring Street, Long Beach, CA 90815, along with a check or money order for the proper amount. The license will be processed and a license tag will be mailed to your home.
- History of prior licenses.
- Your name, address, and phone number.
- A current rabies inoculation certificate is good for the entire licensing period. If your pet received their rabies vaccination from an out-of-state veterinarian, click for the California Department of Public Health approved rabies vaccine list. If your pet's vaccine is not listed, you will have to revaccinate your pet.
- A certificate of sterility if your pet has been spayed or neutered (altered). This will reduce your dog license fee. The certificate must be shown at the time of purchase to receive the reduced rate.
- Microchip information (if applicable)
- Pet license fee.
If you reside in any of the highlighted Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) neighborhoods below, please contact LBACS to receive a first-time pet license fee waiver and a waiver for the late penalty fees for an expired pet license for residents from June 24, 2022, to December 2022. To participate in the program, residents can request the waivers over the phone at 562-570-7387, by mail, or at the shelter. Apply online: https://bit.ly/3ChmUfI
California or municipal law requires that every cat or dog four months of age or older must have a current license fastened to its collar. Even pets that "never leave the house" or property have a way of getting out through accidentally opened gates or by digging under fences. Also, a natural disaster like an earthquake or fire may cause your pet to flee the safety of your property. Having a pet license on its collar, and/or microchip, will help reunite your lost pet with you.
All cats (Long Beach only) and dogs four (4) months old or older are required to have a current license by local municipal codes:
- Long Beach LBMC 6.08.010
- Cerritos CMC 8.04.035(a)
- Signal Hill SHMC 6.08.010
- Los Alamitos LAMC 6.08.010
- Seal Beach SBMC 7.05.035
The National Association of State Public Health Veterinarians endorses the following methods or procedures that enhance rabies control which include the following:
- Identification. Dogs, cats should be identified (e.g., metal or plastic tags or microchips) to allow for verification of rabies vaccination status.
- Licensure. Registration or licensure of all dogs, cats is an integral component of an effective rabies-control program. A fee is frequently charged for such licensure, and revenues collected are used to maintain rabies- or animal-control activities. Evidence of current vaccination should be an essential prerequisite to licensure.
- Canvassing. House-to-house canvassing by animal-control officials facilitates enforcement of vaccination and licensure requirements.
- Citations. Citations are legal summonses issued to owners for violations, including the failure to vaccinate or license their animals. The authority for officers to issue citations should be an integral part of each animal-control program.
- Animal Control. All local jurisdictions should incorporate stray animal control, leash laws, animal bite prevention, and training of personnel in their programs.
- Public Education. All local jurisdictions should incorporate education covering responsible pet ownership, bite prevention, and appropriate veterinary care in their programs. Seal Beach
Door-to-Door canvassing has been a regular activity in the City of Long Beach since the 1960's. The Federal Department of Health and Human Services Centers for Disease Control (CDC) recommends dog and cat licensing, and door-to-door canvassing as an integral method to enhance rabies control (Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report, April 18, 2008). The process of license canvassing results in direct contact with pet owners and provides the opportunity for education about animal care issues. It is also provides residents with the opportunity to report animal-related violations such as neglect, cruelty, barking, defecation, off-leash and excessive numbers of animals on a property.