Home » City Attorney » About Our Office » Our Attorneys

Our Attorneys

The Office of the City Attorney includes a City Attorney, an Assistant City Attorney, and four groups of specialized attorneys.

City Attorney

Dawn A. McIntosh

Assistant City Attorney

Gary J. Anderson

Departmental Counsel

Led by Principal Deputy City Attorney Rich Anthony, the Departmental Counsel Division provides legal assistance for all City departments, including, but not limited to, drafting contracts, resolutions, ordinances, opinions and other regulations. This Division also provides legal advice to City boards, commissions and committees, including the City Council.

Richard F. Anthony Vanessa S. Ibarra Erin Weesner-McKinley
Taylor M. Anderson  Anita Lakhani Atoy H. Wilson
Eliezer Ben-Shmuel  Arturo D. Sanchez Marsha M. Yasuda


Led by Principal Deputy City Attorney Charles Gale, the Harbor division provides legal advice and opinions, drafts contracts, resolutions, ordinances and other regulations for the Board of Harbor Commissioners and the Harbor Department.

Charles M. Gale Thomas Y. Oh  
William R. Baerg Deepika S. Thompson

Sudhir N. Lay


Civil Litigation

Led by Principal Deputy City Attorney, Howard D. Russell, the Litigation division handles all litigation on behalf of the City before judicial and administrative bodies including actions involving personal injury and property damage, civil rights violations, excessive force, constitutional issues, personnel disputes, dangerous conditions of public property, breach of contract and real estate issues.

Howard D. Russell Jennifer J. Moon Theodore B. Zinger
Mark D. Diao Matthew M. Peters  
Nicholas J. Masero Michael A. Swift  

Workers' Compensation

Led by Principal Deputy City Attorney Anne Lattime, the Workers' Compensation division handles all workers' compensation litigation for the City.

Anne C. Lattime
C. Geoffrey Allred
Katrina R. Pickett