Community Development

Long Beach Building Standards Code

Every three years, the State adopts new building, residential, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, energy, historical, fire, existing building, and green building codes (known collectively as the California Building Standards Code) to establish uniform standards for the construction and maintenance of buildings, electrical systems, plumbing systems, mechanical systems, and fire and life safety systems. 

Effective January 1, 2023, all projects must comply with the 2022 Edition of the California Building Standards Code and the Long Beach Municipal Code (LBMC) to receive approval from the Long Beach Community Development Department, as required by State law.

The California Building Standards Code consists of the following 12 parts. More detailed information on each section can be found on the International Code Council website.

Part 1    California Administrative Code (CAC)
Part 2    California Building Code (CBC)
Part 2.5 California Residential Code (CRC)
Part 3    California Electrical Code (CEC)
Part 4    California Mechanical Code (CMC)
Part 5    California Plumbing Code (CPC)
Part 6    California Energy Code (CEEC)
Part 7    (Currently Vacant)
Part 8    California Historical Building Code (CHBC)
Part 9    California Fire Code (CFC)
Part 10  California Existing Building Code (CEBC)
Part 11  California Green Building Standards Code (CGBSC)
Part 12  California Reference Standards Code (CRSC)

For information about recent State-mandated changes, view Information Bulletin 20-04 published by the California Building Standards Commission regarding all changes made during the 2022 Triennial Code Adoption Cycle.

Additional training information and resources related to the 2022 Edition of the California Building Standards Code and the development of the California Building Standards Code are also available at