Home » Mayor » News » biz award

Best in the Business

Release Date: 2016-08-12

This Friday, I’m hosting the first ever Mayor’s Long Beach Business Awards. 50 business leaders will be recognized for outstanding contributions to Long Beach. 

For the past several years, we’ve honored community members for their contributions with the Go Long Beach Awards. But, because our business community is so unique and important to our city, I wanted to single out some of the most innovative, hard-working, creative people who are running a business for recognition. These people are making tremendous contributions not just to our economy, but to the social and cultural fabric of the city.

Among the winners this year are small business owners, executives, and neighborhood organizers, including newcomers to Long Beach as well as longtime members of the business community. My congratulations to all of them!

This year’s winners are:

Mario Molina and John Molina - Molina Health Care
Michelle Molina- Millworks
Steve Goodling – Convention and Visitors Bureau
Vivian Shimoyama – Long Beach City College, Goldman-Sachs 10,000 Small Businesses Initiative
Julia Huang - Intertrend Communications
The Walker Family – Farmers & Merchants Bank
Tracy Ames - East Anaheim Street Business Alliance, President
Andrew Vonderschmitt - East Anaheim Street Business Alliance, Vice President
Kourosh Davatolhagh - East Anaheim Street Business Alliance, Secretary
Alisa Admiral - East Anaheim Street Business Alliance, Treasurer
Cameron Crockett - East Anaheim Street Business Alliance, Directors
Michael Shafer - East Anaheim Street Business Alliance, Directors
Kristine Hammond - East Anaheim Street Business Alliance, Executive Director
Becher Neme - East Anaheim Street Business Alliance, Community Liaison
Ted Hiatt – Small Business Development Center at Long Beach City College
Joe Mendez - LGBT Chamber of Commerce
Danny Vong - Midtown board
Gary Ung - Midtown board
Kenneth McDonald - Midtown board
Laura McMillin - Midtown board
Lisa J. Patton - Midtown board
Monorom Neth - Midtown board
Pasin Chanou - Midtown board
Peter Kong - Midtown board
SakPhan Keam - Midtown board
Jeff Williams - Leadership Long Beach
Dina Amadril - Long Beach Creamery
Jeff Beasley – Bundts on melrose
Michael Dean - Michael’s Pizzeria
Rosita Wang - Aji Peruvian Cuisine
Mina Hernadez and Luis Hernandez - Deli News Pizza
Dale Warner - Hamburger Mary’s
Becky Teter - 5000 Pies
Feon Cooper - Shoreline Comics
Isa Rached, Josie Rached and Rocio Rached - The B Room
Giovanna Ferraro - Groundwork Fitness
Richard Leighton - Richie's Toys & Gifts
Jeff Baughman (Manager) - Pet Food Express
Anthony Otto - Long Beach Container Terminal
Chris Wacker - Laserfiche
Mike Haynes - WeLabs
Kolin Bernard - WeLabs
Ted Sieving - WeLabs
Robbie Brown - WeLabs
Curt Castagna - Aeroplex/Aerolease Group

Mayor Robert Garcia