Home » Police » About the LBPD

About the LBPD

The Long Beach Police Department is the second largest municipal police agency in Los Angeles County and provides law enforcement services to the 7th largest city in the State of California. With over 800 sworn officers and a total staffing of over 1,200 personnel, LBPD is dedicated to professional, proactive and innovative policing and is committed to building and maintaining positive relationships with the diverse community they serve. With an annual operating budget of over $211 million, the Police Department also provides contracted law enforcement services to the Port of Long Beach, Long Beach Airport, Long Beach Transit, and Long Beach City College. 


Strategic Vision


Core Values

Principles of Law Enforcement

Law Enforcement Code of Ethics




Police Chief Robert Luna

Chief of Police
Assistant Chief Wally Hebeish Assistant Chief of Police Email
Deputy Chief Michael Lewis Patrol Bureau Deputy Chief Email 
Vacant Support Bureau Deputy Chief Email 
Deputy Chief Robert Smith  Investigations Bureau Deputy Chief Email
Bureau Manager Julissa Jose-Murray Business Operations Bureau Manager Email
Bureau Manager Ruby Marin-Jordan Administration Bureau Manager Email
Commander Patrick O'Dowd Chief of Staff - Office of the Chief of Police Email
Commander Darren Lance Internal Affairs Division Commander Email
Commander Gerardo Prieto South Patrol Division Commander Email
Commander Chad Ellis East Patrol Division Commander Email
Commander Megan Zabel North Patrol Division Commander Email
Commander Ty Burford West Patrol Division Commander Email
Commander Jeffrey Berkenkamp Field Support Division Commander Email
Commander Ryan LeBaron Detectives Division Commander Email
Commander Donald Mauk Special Investigations Division Commander Email
Commander Melvin McGuire Training Division Commander Email
Commander Gregory Schirmer Port Police Division Commander Email
Commander Michael Pennino Jail Division Commander Email
Vacant Security Services Division Commander Email
Administrator Anna Reyes Records Administrator Email
Administrator Karen Owens Community Engagement Administrator Email
Administrator Glen Spencer Forensic Services Administrator Email
Administrator Leslie Bruce Finance Administrator Email
Administrator Paula Gallegos Personnel Administrator Email
Vacant Professional Standards Administrator
Administrator Tom Leary Public Records Compliance Administator  Email