The Evidence Control Section is charged with the responsibility of intake, storage, and disposition of all property received by the Long Beach Police Department to be held as evidence, prisoner’s property, found property, or stored for safekeeping.
For vehicles, please call the Long Beach City Tow Yard at (562)570-2828.
All evidence/property received by the Evidence Control Section must be properly inventoried, logged, classified, stored, and disposed of.
Failure to pick up the bicycle within the corresponding hold time frame will result in the bicycle being sold at auction:
- 60 days if held for safekeeping
- 90 days if prisoner’s property
- 120 days if found property
After 120 days, found bicycles can be claimed by the finder (excluding Long Beach City employees). If the property is not picked up within 150 days, it will be destroyed or auctioned.
Failure to pick up the property (except firearms) within 60 days will result in the property being destroyed or auctioned.
Failure to pick up the property within 90 days will result in the property being destroyed or auctioned.
Failure to pick up the property within 120 days will result in the property being destroyed or auctioned.
Found property can be claimed by the finder (excluding Long Beach City employees) after 120 days. Failure to pick up the property within 150 days, will result in the property being destroyed or auctioned.
All auctioned items may be found on www.generalauction.com
RELEASE OF PROPERTY
Any person picking up any type of property must have proper identification, such as a California driver’s license or ID.
Any property being held as evidence must be approved for release by the investigating detective.
Guns, drugs, knives, BB guns, or any personal property such as computers or phones, cannot be claimed by a finder.
Contact the Department of Justice (DOJ) at (916) 263-4887 or download the form online at www.oag.ca.gov/firearms/forms, or access the California Firearms Application Reporting System (CFARS) at https://cfars.doj.ca.gov for an online process.
Fill out the Law Enforcement Release Application and follow the instructions from the California Department of Justice.
The California Department of Justice will send you a document approving or denying the release of the firearm. If the firearm is approved for release, contact the assigned detective or the Gun Detail at (562) 570- 7370. The firearm must be picked up within 30 days (no exceptions).
Present your DOJ clearance letter at the appointment with photo government identification.
(Notices are sent out to the registered owners of firearms after they have been deemed eligible for release. If we have not heard from you within 180 days per section 33875 (A) PC , the firearm will be then be listed as abandoned and processed for destruction)
EVIDENCE CONTROL PHONE NUMBERS, ADDRESSES, AND HOURS
Property / Evidence: (562) 570-7660
- 1400 Canal Ave. Long Beach, CA. 90813
- Monday – Friday
- 6:00am – 4:30pm
Bicycle Warehouse: (562) 570-1075
- 600 W. 15th St. Long Beach, CA. 90813
- Monday – Friday
- 9:00am – 3:00pm
- Days and hours subject to change without notice
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Q: What do I need to pick up my property?
A: Any person picking up any type of property must have proper identification, such as a California driver’s license or ID.
Q: How do I surrender a firearm I no longer want?
A: Call L.B.P.D. Dispatch at (562) 435-6711 to request an officer come to your home and collect the gun. Inform the officer you wish to have the gun destroyed. (Please do not bring a loaded firearm to a police station)
Q: My firearm was taken for safekeeping. What is the process to get it back?
A: Please see the FIREARM RETURN PROCESS.
Q: My firearm was used in a crime. How can I get it back?
A: Guns used in a crime are not typically released until after the disposition of the criminal case. If you were convicted of a crime the gun will be destroyed. If you were the victim, please see the FIREARM RETURN PROCESS.
Q: I received a notice to claim my firearm from the police department. How long will by firearm be stored before it is destroyed?
A: A notice will be sent to the registered owner by the detective after the firearm has been deemed eligible for release. If we have not heard from you within 180 days, the firearm will be listed as abandoned and processed for destruction.