The Long Beach Police Department (LBPD) Traffic Section conducted a DUI/Drivers License checkpoint on Friday, June 25, 2021, at Pacific Coast Highway and Loynes Street, between the hours of 6:00 p.m. and 2:00 a.m. Checkpoints are placed in locations that have the greatest opportunity to deter driving under the influence and provide the greatest safety for officers and the public.
In recent years, California has seen a disturbing increase in drug-impaired driving crashes. Long Beach Police Department supports the new effort from the Office of Traffic Safety that aims to educate all drivers that “DUI Doesn’t Just Mean Booze.” If you take prescription drugs, particularly those with a driving or operating machinery warning on the label, you might be impaired enough to get a DUI. Marijuana can also be impairing, especially in combination with alcohol or other drugs, and can result in a DUI.
Studies of California drivers have shown that 30 percent of drivers in fatal crashes had one or more drugs in their systems. A study of active drivers showed more tested positive for drugs that may impair driving (14 percent) than did for alcohol (7.3 percent). Of the drugs, marijuana was most prevalent, at 7.4 percent, slightly more than alcohol.
• 1750 Vehicles through checkpoint
• 352 Drivers screened
• 2 Drivers arrested for DUI
• 0 Drivers cited for operating a vehicle with a suspended/revoked license
• 4 Drivers cited for being unlicensed
• 7 Citations issued for unsafe driving
• 1 Driver fled checkpoint, the vehicle was found, and the driver was identified. A handgun and narcotics were recovered inside the vehicle.
Drivers caught driving impaired can expect the impact of a DUI arrest to include jail time, fines, fees, DUI classes, license suspension, and other expenses that can exceed $10,000 not to mention the embarrassment when friends and family find out.
The checkpoint was funded by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, reminding everyone to ‘Report Drunk Driver – call 9-1-1.
Original Release Published on 6/23/2021
The Long Beach Police Department will hold a DUI Checkpoint on June 25th from 6:00 p.m. to 2:00 a.m. in the East Patrol Division.
Checkpoint locations are chosen based on a history of DUI crashes and arrests. The primary purpose of checkpoints is not to make arrests, but to promote public safety by deterring drivers from driving impaired.
During the checkpoint, officers will look for signs that drivers are under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs.
As the state continues to work to stop the spread of COVID-19, the Long Beach Police Department is committed to keeping the public safe.
“The safety of our community is and always will be our mission,” Lt. Kris Klein said. “We are still out there looking for impaired drivers because driving under the influence is still dangerous.”
Long Beach Police Department reminds the public that impaired driving is not just from alcohol. Some prescription medications or over-the-counter drugs may interfere with driving. Always follow directions for use and read warning labels about driving or operating heavy machinery, which includes driving a car. While medicinal and recreational marijuana are legal, driving under the influence of marijuana is illegal.
If you plan on drinking or taking medications that may impact your ability to drive safely, plan on staying at home.
Drivers charged with DUI face an average of $13,500 in fines and penalties, as well as a suspended license.
Funding for this program was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.